Tragicità e sarcasmo s’intrecciano in una lirica kafkiana del poeta statunitense Dennis Nurkse.

Tragedy and sarcasm are intertwined in a Kafkaesque lyric poem of the American poet Dennis Nurkse .


 

Horsemen came by my housed-nurkse_body
at night wanting to know
which side I was on.
At first I said: God:
meaning, nothing: but later
even that was not a safe answer.
I said the side of the poor
but that became very dangerous.
I explained that I was on the side
of God’s poverty but not my own
and against the divinity of the poor
except in my case: but these were not men
given to subtleties: they had ridden hard
and their horses whinnied outside
lathered in icy wind.


 

Uomini a cavallo giunsero di notte
a casa mia. Volevano sapere
da che parte stavo.
Sulle prime risposi: Dio:
che significa, niente: ma poi
anche quella si rivelò una risposta inaffidabile.
Dissi dalla parte dei poveri
ma anche questo si rivelò molto pericoloso.
Spiegai che stavo dalla parte
della povertà di Dio ma non della mia
e contro la divinità del povero
eccetto nel mio caso: ma questi erano uomini
poco inclini a sottigliezze: avevano cavalcato a lungo
e i loro cavalli nitrivano là fuori
sudati nel vento ghiacciato.

tradotto da Aldo Profumo e Giovanna Rosadini